increase contrast

Award Winning Books for Adults

Looking for something high quality? Why not try an award winner?

ALA Notable Books American Library Association

Selected annually by the Notable Books Council, the ALA Notable Books is a list of “25 very good, very readable, and at times very important fiction, nonfiction, and poetry books for the adult reader.”

Bram Stoker Awards

Named for the author of Dracula, the Bram Stoker Award is awarded annually by the Horror Writers Association for outstanding writing in the dark fantasy/horror/occult genre.

Christy Awards

Awarded annually to recognize novels of excellence written from a Christian worldview, the Christy Awards are given in several genres, including contemporary (stand-alone novels and series), historical, romance (contemporary and historical), suspense, and visionary. In addition, an award is given for first novel and young adult.

MWA-Mystery Writers AssociationEdgar Awards

The Edgar® Awards are awarded each spring to recognize a book, short story, television show, or film in the mystery, crime, suspense, and intrigue genres published or produced in the U.S.

Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards recognize excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy.

National Book FoundationNational Book Awards

The National Book Awards are given annually to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature.

National Book Critics Circle Awards

Chosen by national critics, the NBCC Award is awarded each March to honor the best literature published in the United States in the following six categories: autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

Pen/Faulkner Awards 

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is an annual national prize which honors the best published works of fiction (novels, novellas, and collections of short stories) written by American citizens.

Pulitzer Prize The Pulitzer Prizes

Announced annually in the spring, the Pulitzer Prize honors excellence in journalism and the arts in the United States. Awards are given for drama, music, fiction, nystory, biography, poetry, nonfiction and more.


Yates Community Library | 15 North Main Street | P.O. Box 485 | Lyndonville, NY 14098 | 585-765-9041
A Member of the Nioga Library System

Website by MG Lomb Advertising